Kariobangi Sharks recorded a goalless draw against 10-man Wazito FC in a match played at the Kenyatta Stadium, Machakos. The hosts fell a man less in the 53rd minute after defender Karim Nzingimanya was sent off for a dangerous tackle on Samuel Olwande.

A new look defence featuring Kuol Chol and Michael Bodo who were making their first starts of the season partnering captain Eric Juma and Kenyan International Samuel Olwande showed great stability, keeping Wazito’s forwards at bay.

Sharks almost took the lead in the 28th minute after Duke Abuya pounced on a loose ball in the six-yard box but a last-ditch block from Bernard Oginga kept the hosts in the game. Patila Omoto was also denied by tackle in the box when he was put through by Duke Abuya in the 37th minute.

John Oyemba then kept the boys in the game with a fine save when one on one with Elvis Rupia. The keeper came off his line quickly and closed the gap between him and the striker before saving his shot at full stretch to take the game to the break at 0-0.

The second half started with increased tempo from both sides but it took an ugly turn in the 53rd minute after Wazito defender stamped on Samuel Olwande with a double clutched tackle that earned him a straight red card. Olwande was lucky to continue with the match after shaking off the dangerous tackle.

The introduction of James Mazembe and Patrick Otieno injected more pace to the game but the Wazito defence stood firm to deny the Sharks. Machika came in for Lokale but still the supply to the front man was scarce as it was in the first half.

Sharks then survived a late scare when the hosts were awarded a free-kick at the edge of the area following a John Oyemba handled the ball outside his area but the Musa Masika sent his effort over the bar.

The teams settled for the goalless draw which left Sharks languishing at position 16 while Wazito also stuck at the 11th position.

Sharks Starting XI: John Oyemba (GK), Eric Juma©, Samuel Olwande, Kuol Chol, Michael Bodo, Sven Yidah, Patila Omoto, Duke Abuya, Harrison Mwendwa (Mazembe), Julius Masaba (Patrick), Sydney Lokale (Machika).

SUBS:  Brian Oyande, James Mazembe, Daniel Sakari, Lemu Shiveka, KevinTom Machika, Peter Oudu, Patrick Otieno.

Wazito Starting XI: Kevin Omondi (GK), Otieno David, Karim Nzigiyimana, Bernard Ochieng, Ndinya Victor (Acquah), Onyango Derrick (Wahome), Asembeka Amos, Rupia Elvis, Masika Musa, Omurwa Johnstone, Ali Hassan (Nyatini).

SUBS: Njunge Steve (GK), Otanga Derrick, Wahome Lloyd, Nyatini Joshua, Acquah Paul, Musa Brian, Mutamba Pitsone.


Leave a Reply

Kenya Premier League